Werner Simon - About us

Our Company

Located in beautiful Neuruppin — tradition meets history

SIMON has been winning over customers with convenience foods of fine cuisine and the gentle methods it uses for preservation of the food for more than 80 years. Our products have held their position right at the forefront of German providers for decades.

Our company was founded in Parchim in 1936 by Werner Simon, a commercial broker for preserved meats, then later moved to Hamburg. Our production facilities have been located in Neuruppin am See, south of Ruppin Switzerland, since 2003. Building on the high quality of our products and our prudent product management, SIMON has developed into a provider of a complete product line of preserved quality meat dishes and aspic specialities.

Our customers and trade partners in Germany and abroad value the quality and the sterling reputation of the SIMON brand name. SIMON specialities stand out on grocery store shelves because of the fresh blue label, the golden lettering and the red trademark, and consumers recognise their high quality. Our company has a long tradition, so we know how important it is to preserve our standing and to continue to develop it.

Our Site

In brief

We produce fresh convenience dishes every day in Neuruppin am See, a town on the southern edge of the Ruppin Heath. Our facilities are located 60 km north-west of the national capital city Berlin and in the nature park Stechlin-Ruppiner Land. Neuruppin is known for Ruppin Lake, Brandenburg’s longest lake — and for the city’s famous sons, the author Theodor Fontane and the architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel. Friedrich the Great, King of Prussia, lived in Neuruppin when he was Crown Prince.

Today, Neuruppin, the district seat and the city of Fontane, is a modern commercial location featuring a favourable logistics proximity to the motorway Berlin–Hamburg — yet in the middle of the Ruppiner Land with its clear lakes and natural forests.

The company building

The company building

Philipp-Oehmigke-Str. 4
DE-16816 Neuruppin

Theodor Fontane

Theodor Fontante Memorial

Famous German writer, born in Neuruppin.

Abbey

Abbey

Construction started in the first half of the 13th century.

Did you know this?

The tin can has been around for over 200 years

Surely it is not a coincidence that the history of the tin can started (of all places) in France, the land of gourmets.

At the end of the 18th century, Napoleon Bonaparte offered a reward of 12,000 gold francs for the scientist who could find a way to preserve food for transport over longer distances. The chef and confectioner Nicolas Appert had been experimenting with ways to preserve meat, fish, fruit and vegetables for many years. He took champagne bottles, filled them with food and sealed them airtight, then heated them to 100° C to kill all of the germs. Even today, this method is still sometimes called “appertisation”. Mr Appert received the award under the condition that he would make his knowledge public. The idea of putting foods in tin cans, however, came from the Frenchman Pierre Durand, who had emigrated to England. On 25 August 1810, King George III granted him the patent for his method of preserving perishable foods in tin cans.

Tin cans were very popular with the military, sailors, in colonial areas and later in private households. The tin opener was not invented until 1858. Until then, a hammer and chisel were needed to open the tins.

1900: The success story of the Weck company begins. It is the story of food preservation using the special Weck jars and preservation rings.
“Einwecken” has been a part of the language in German households for more than 110 years. Johann Weck was a proponent of a natural, healthy life style.

1935: Beer in tins first appeared on the American market.
Gottfried Krüger, an inventive beer brewer, filled tins with beer and sold 200 million of them in the first year alone.

2010: About 80 billion tin cans made of tin or aluminium were manufactured worldwide every year.
And the tin can continues to develop:

  • As a vault for nutrients and vitamins
  • Easy to open thanks to ring pull and easy-lift caps, i.e. made even simpler to open by the indentation under the ring pull
  • Can be easily stacked because of the necking of the bottom of the tin
  • 100% recyclable; recycling rate in Germany over 93% (per 2012), 69% in Europe
  • Sustainably saves energy because they can be stored without refrigeration at room temperature without any loss of quality

And so the success story of the tin can continues steadily onward. It is a product that can be used in many different ways and in the everyday lives of many people.

The pen holder

The pen holder

Is there anyone who never used a tin to hold pens and pencils in school?
Necessity is the mother of invention.

The young person's telephone

The young person’s telephone

And this is how the principle of phoning works. The tin makes it possible.

The road to a new life

The road to a new life

Still to be seen in many Hollywood films today, and often used in this country as well.

Werner Simon - Über uns

Unser Unternehmen

Gelegen im wunderschönen Neuruppin – Tradition trifft auf Geschichte

Seit über 80 Jahren überzeugt SIMON mit Fertiggerichten der feinen Küche und der schonenden Konservierung. Unsere Produkte behaupten sich schon seit Jahrzehnten in der ersten Reihe der deutschen Anbieter.

1936 wurde unser Unternehmen durch Werner Simon, einem Handelsmakler für Fleischkonserven, in Parchim gegründet und später nach Hamburg verlagert. Seit 2003 produzieren wir in Neuruppin am See, südlich der Ruppiner Schweiz. Aufgrund der hohen Qualität unserer Produkte und unseres umsichtigen Produkt-Managements wurde SIMON zum Vollsortimenter für konservierte Qualitäts-Fleischgerichte und Aspikspezialitäten.

Unsere Kunden und Handelspartner im In- und Ausland schätzen die Qualität und den guten Ruf der Marke SIMON. Mit den frischen blauen Etiketten, der goldenen Schrift und dem roten Markenzeichen werden SIMON Spezialitäten im Sortiment des Lebensmittelhandels sehr gut wahrgenommen und vom Verbraucher in ihrer hohen Qualität erkannt. Als Traditionsunternehmen wissen wir, dass es dies zu bewahren und zu entwickeln gilt.

Unser Standort

Kurz und bündig

In Neuruppin am See, am Südrand der Ruppiner Heide, produzieren wir täglich frische Fertiggerichte. Unser Standort liegt 60 km nordwestlich der Bundeshauptstadt Berlin im Naturpark Stechlin-Ruppiner Land. Bekannt ist Neuruppin durch den Ruppiner See, dem längsten See Brandenburgs – und durch die berühmten Söhne der Stadt, dem Schriftsteller Theodor Fontane und dem Architekten Karl Friedrich Schinkel. Auch Friedrich der Grosse, König von Preussen, hat als Kronprinz in Neuruppin gelebt.

Heute ist die Kreis- und Fontanestadt Neuruppin ein moderner Wirtschaftsstandort, logistisch günstig nahe der Autobahn Berlin-Hamburg gelegen – und trotzdem inmitten des Ruppiner Landes mit seinen klaren Seen und natürlichen Wäldern.

Das Firmengebäude

Das Firmengebäude

Philipp-Oehmigke-Str. 4
16816 Neuruppin

Theodor Fontane

Theodor-Fontane-Denkmal

Bekannter deutscher Schriftsteller, geboren in Neuruppin.

Die Klosterkirche

Klosterkirche

ab der 1. Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts errichtet.

 

Wussten Sie schon?

Über 200 Jahre Lebensmitteldose

Es kann kein Zufall sein, dass die Geschichte der Konservendose ausgerechnet in Frankreich, dem Land der Feinschmecker, begann:
Napoleon Bonaparte bot Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts eine Belohnung von 12.000 Goldfranken für den Wissenschaftler, dem es gelingen würde, Lebensmittel haltbar und länger transportierbar zu machen. Schon seit Jahren hatte der Koch und Konditor Nicolas Appert damit experimentiert, Fleisch, Fisch, Obst und Gemüse haltbar zu machen. Er nutzte Champagnerflaschen, um darin Lebensmittel luftdicht abzufüllen und auf 100°C zu erhitzen, so wurden Keime abgetötet. Diese Methode wird noch heute „Appertisieren“ genannt. Herr Appert erhielt die Belohnung mit der Bedingung, sein Wissen öffentlich zu machen. Die Idee, Lebensmittel in Blechdosen zu füllen, hatte dann aber der Franzose Pierre Durand, der nach England ausgewandert war. Ihm verlieh der englische König George III. am 25. August 1810 das Patent für die Konservierungsmethode verderblicher Lebensmittel in Dosen.

Die Dose erfreute sich großer Beliebtheit beim Militär, den Seefahrern, in Kolonialgebieten und später auch in den Haushalten. Erst 1858 wurde der Dosenöffner erfunden. Bis dahin mussten Dosen noch mit Hammer und Meißel geöffnet werden.

1900 begann die Erfolgsgeschichte der Firma Weck. Es ist die Geschichte des Einkochens mit Einkochringen und den speziellen Weck-Gläsern.
Das “Einwecken” ist seit über 110 Jahren in deutschen Haushalten bekannt. Johann Weck war Verfechter einer natürlichen, gesunden Lebensweise.

1935 kam das Bier im Blechmantel auf den amerikanischen Markt.
Der erfinderische Bierbrauer Gottfried Krüger füllte das Bier in Dosen und verkaufte bereits im ersten Jahr 200 Millionen Stück.

2010 wurden weltweit pro Jahr rund 80 Milliarden Konservendosen aus Weißblech oder Aluminium hergestellt.
Und die Lebensmitteldose entwickelt sich weiter:

  • als Nährstoff- und Vitamintresor
  • leicht zu öffnen dank Ring Pull und Easy lift-Deckel, d.h. noch einfacheres Öffnen durch eine Griffmulde unter dem Ring Pull
  • leicht stapelbar dank genecktem Dosenboden
  • 100% recyclingfähig: Recyclingrate in Deutschland über 93% (Stand 2012), in Europa 69%
  • nachhaltig energiesparend durch Lagerung ohne Kühlung bei Zimmertemperatur, ohne Qualitätsverlust

Und so geht die Erfolgsgeschichte der Dose stetig weiter. So findet Sie viele weitere Funktionen, auch im Alltag vieler Menschen:

Dose als Stiftehalter

Der Stiftehalter

Wer kennt ihn nicht aus eigenen Schultagen?
Not macht erfinderisch.

Das Dosentelefon

Das Telefon der Jugend

Und so funktioniert das Prinzip des Telefonierens. Auch die Dose macht es möglich.

Just married

Der Weg ins neue Leben

In vielen Hollywoodstreifen noch heute zu sehen und auch hierzulande oft benutzt.